top of page

Wood do you know?

Ok, I ordered the wood from a guy called Orlando. He's a carpenter from Gran Canaria. He had a friend who was closing down his shop and had 70m2 of brazilian cherry wood (Jatoba) left over. Since he wanted to get rid of it, i pretty much got it for 2/3rds of the actual price. And since it's already treated and varnished, the installation will be fast and easy. (which means not so expensive) This wood will be for the dance studio.

Finally I decided to put wood in the rest of the house. but now it's a matter of finding the kind of wood I want. I've been mulling it over for weeks. and at the end of the day. It doesn't matter. as long as it's hard, not too red and durable....I don't think I really care. It's a strange thing to say about something that's going to cost me an arm and a leg but be it dark wood, light wood, medium brown wood. I would be happy with any of them. especially if the price was reasonable. so really what it comes down to is a reasonably priced hard wood. I've asked about rustic looking wood and honestly, people really don't know what i'm talking about. I tried to ask them about it just to get some general information to see if it's relatively cheaper or something but since they are completely oblivious as to what i'm talking about....I'm going to leave it at that.

Haven't ordered the wood yet but now that i have a few contacts and people I feel comfortable talking to...I think it's only a matter of weeks before I make the order.

This might be one deciding factor that delays the finishing of the house.

having said that, they are speculating that they will finish before christmas! december 25! wooo hoo! That will give me a month to figure out my kitchen alone. :( sigh...i will be alone again :(


About Eva  
Recent Posts
Archives
Our Community 

To be a part of Little Pond, please click here. 

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page