top of page

Day 122: odds and ends


Today we finished up the odds and ends. I say we because I hung around helping them do whatever they needed help with. I think the official title for me is the peón. The helper...with no particularly special skills but a little bit of knowledge here and there. It was a pretty relaxing day. because I did things at my own pace. and I'm immune to Guzman when he tells me to hurry. Luis says by the time Jose starts the other house, I will know how to do everything.

Here are a few pics of what was done today.

The railings of the staircase.

They are doing something on the roof but I can't figure out what. I think they are putting up the boarder of the rooftop and rendering it. I can't figure out what else it would be.

I never showed this before. but today it was funny to see all the finger prints in the wet walls.

They let me render the edges of this wall. I had to deal with a little bit of nagging because i wasn't throwing the cement on the wall hard enough and the cement was peeling off. but in the end I got a "Very Good". Just for the record, I didn't do the top part or the corners.

Other things I did was clean all the rulers and I chiseled out spaces in the walls for the electrical tubing in my bathroom and bedroom. I kind of did it at my own pace (which was not very fast) and I think it drove the guys nuts that i wasn't hitting it as hard as they would have liked and the weak clinking sound that I was making was really trying their patience. It was hilarious. This is where I learned the phrase"'Dale con ganas!!!" ( kind of means "put more Oumf into it!") because that's all they kept saying to me. ha ha haha...

Below are my stinky gloves. They are the first pair they gave me...and I'm still using them. with the number of gloves i see lying around the floor. I think they go through a pair of gloves at least every week. I tried washing them...ugh, but they still make my hands smell bad at the end of the day. :( Luis gave me another pair, but i can't seem to find them. :(


About Eva  
Recent Posts
Archives
Our Community 

To be a part of Little Pond, please click here. 

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page